District of WondersTales To TerrifyProtecting Project PulpCrime City CentralStarShipSofa

Hugos 2012 – Finalists

Home Forums On the Sofa Everything Else Hugos 2012 – Finalists


This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Gonzalo 2 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
  • #22539


    TL;DR – Pleased the Sofa got another nomination (Best Fancast). Disappointed no podcasts made it into any other category.

    The nominees are:

    Best Novel

    Among Others by Jo Walton (Tor)
    A Dance With Dragons by George R. R. Martin (Bantam Spectra)
    Deadline by Mira Grant (Orbit)
    Embassytown by China Miéville (Macmillan / Del Rey)
    Leviathan Wakes by James S. A. Corey (Orbit)

    Best Novella

    Countdown by Mira Grant (Orbit)
    “The Ice Owl” by Carolyn Ives Gilman (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction November/December 2011)
    “Kiss Me Twice” by Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s June 2011)
    “The Man Who Bridged the Mist” by Kij Johnson (Asimov’s September/October 2011)
    “The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary” by Ken Liu (Panverse 3)
    Silently and Very Fast by Catherynne M. Valente (WSFA)

    Best Novelette

    “The Copenhagen Interpretation” by Paul Cornell (Asimov’s July 2011)
    “Fields of Gold” by Rachel Swirsky (Eclipse Four)
    “Ray of Light” by Brad R. Torgersen (Analog December 2011)
    “Six Months, Three Days” by Charlie Jane Anders (Tor.com)
    “What We Found” by Geoff Ryman (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction March/April 2011)

    Best Short Story

    “The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees” by E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld April 2011)
    “The Homecoming” by Mike Resnick (Asimov’s April/May 2011)
    “Movement” by Nancy Fulda (Asimov’s March 2011)
    “The Paper Menagerie” by Ken Liu (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction March/April 2011)
    “Shadow War of the Night Dragons: Book One: The Dead City: Prologue” by John Scalzi (Tor.com)

    Best Related Work

    The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition edited by John Clute, David Langford, Peter Nicholls, and Graham Sleight (Gollancz)
    Jar Jar Binks Must Die… and Other Observations about Science Fiction Movies by Daniel M. Kimmel (Fantastic Books)
    The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature by Jeff VanderMeer and S. J. Chambers (Abrams Image)
    Wicked Girls by Seanan McGuire
    Writing Excuses, Season 6 by Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Howard Tayler, Mary Robinette Kowal, and Jordan Sanderson

    Best Graphic Story

    Digger by Ursula Vernon (Sofawolf Press)
    Fables Vol 15: Rose Red by Bill Willingham and Mark Buckingham (Vertigo)
    Locke & Key Volume 4, Keys to the Kingdom written by Joe Hill, illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW)
    Schlock Mercenary: Force Multiplication written and illustrated by Howard Tayler, colors by Travis Walton (The Tayler Corporation)
    The Unwritten (Volume 4): Leviathan created by Mike Carey and Peter Gross. Written by Mike Carey, illustrated by Peter Gross (Vertigo)

    Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)

    Captain America: The First Avenger, screenplay by Christopher Markus and Stephan McFeely, directed by Joe Johnston (Marvel)
    Game of Thrones (Season 1), created by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss; written by David Benioff, D. B. Weiss, Bryan Cogman, Jane Espenson, and George R. R. Martin; directed by Brian Kirk, Daniel Minahan, Tim van Patten, and Alan Taylor (HBO)
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, screenplay by Steve Kloves; directed by David Yates (Warner Bros.)
    Hugo, screenplay by John Logan; directed by Martin Scorsese (Paramount)
    Source Code, screenplay by Ben Ripley; directed by Duncan Jones (Vendome Pictures)

    Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

    “The Doctor’s Wife” (Doctor Who), written by Neil Gaiman; directed by Richard Clark (BBC Wales)
    “The Drink Tank’s Hugo Acceptance Speech,” Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon (Renovation)
    “The Girl Who Waited” (Doctor Who), written by Tom MacRae; directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Wales)
    “A Good Man Goes to War” (Doctor Who), written by Steven Moffat; directed by Peter Hoar (BBC Wales)
    “Remedial Chaos Theory” (Community), written by Dan Harmon and Chris McKenna; directed by Jeff Melman (NBC)

    Best Semiprozine

    Apex Magazine edited by Catherynne M. Valente, Lynne M. Thomas, and Jason Sizemore
    Interzone edited by Andy Cox
    Lightspeed edited by John Joseph Adams
    Locus edited by Liza Groen Trombi, Kirsten Gong-Wong, et al.
    New York Review of Science Fiction edited by David G. Hartwell, Kevin J. Maroney, Kris Dikeman, and Avram Grumer

    Best Fanzine

    Banana Wings edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
    The Drink Tank edited by James Bacon and Christopher J Garcia
    File 770 edited by Mike Glyer
    Journey Planet edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, et al.
    SF Signal edited by John DeNardo

    Best Fancast

    The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan & Gary K. Wolfe
    Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alex Pierce, and Tansy Rayner Roberts (presenters) and Andrew Finch (producer)
    SF Signal Podcast, John DeNardo and JP Frantz, produced by Patrick Hester
    SF Squeecast, Lynne M. Thomas, Seanan McGuire, Paul Cornell, Elizabeth Bear, and Catherynne M. Valente
    StarShipSofa, Tony C. Smith

    Best Professional Editor — Long Form

    Lou Anders
    Liz Gorinsky
    Anne Lesley Groell
    Patrick Nielsen Hayden
    Betsy Wollheim

    Best Professional Editor — Short Form

    John Joseph Adams
    Neil Clarke
    Stanley Schmidt
    Jonathan Strahan
    Sheila Williams

    Best Professional Artist

    Dan dos Santos
    Bob Eggleton
    Michael Komarck
    Stephan Martiniere
    John Picacio

    Best Fan Artist

    Brad W. Foster
    Randall Munroe
    Spring Schoenhuth
    Maurine Starkey
    Steve Stiles
    Taral Wayne

    Best Fan Writer

    James Bacon
    Claire Brialey
    Christopher J Garcia
    Jim C. Hines
    Steven H Silver

    John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

    Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2010 or 2011, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award, * = 2nd year of eligibility).

    Mur Lafferty
    Stina Leicht
    Karen Lord *
    Brad R. Torgersen *
    E. Lily Yu


    Thanks Gonzalo. Would have loved to have seen Escape Pod in there somewhere.



    Will Christopher Priest like this list?

    Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near Tannhäuser Gate. All those moments will be lost in time like tears in rain.



    I hadn’t realised that a full series of a TV show could make it into Dramatic Long Form, but I guess that means the Doctor Who block vote will comtinue its dominance. A win for @neilhimself I expect.

    Really should read a few more of the movels…



    Funnily enough Chris Priest won Best Novel at the BSFA awards that were announced at Eastercon, where the Hugo nominations were also announced.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.


Comments are closed.